top of page

SHIKAMOO (A Poem by Bridget Nakuya)

The day you visited Uganda Terrence 

Howard,

You came to see the lovely monkeys

and the huge flora and fauna in 

Kibaale Forest Park,

green butterflies flew through my

bulging African veins knowing the

Hollywood star was on the Pearl of

Africa,

give me some cookie love you 

beautiful brown black son of yonder,

I need some cookie love because 

the truth comes like a panga,

to soothe the cracks in my soul,

for there is a new brand of vampires 

that are eating out the blood of my 

Nation, 

the empire is crashing.


Terrence,

I honestly can’t fathom where the world

of African Leadership is headed, 

while you probably brushed your teeth

in the morning, 

to prepare to go into the wild Uganda

Forest to fly with the lovely monkeys, 

flying from trunk to trunk,

throwing and catching bananas,

 smiling

and laughing with the monkeys,

blissful, the heart is red,

I listened to the stuccatto outside my

rental as the old woman with a shrill 

voice cried,


“Bamusse, chairman bamukubye 

enyondo!”


He wakes up,

because like the real James Bond,

there is no time to die baby,

so out of the slums and into dem

sneakers baby.


SHIKAMOO Mr. Chairman, 

a lovely morning to you sir.


—boil me a hot pot of water for 

bathing when l return from jogging—


he told his wife


Slowly running out of the slums of 

Kamwokya,

I feel like Lebron James in these 

sneakers, 

leaving behind the ever-heavily 

marijuana-scented little city,

I cross over into Kololo,

upper Kololo is so damn sexy,

hmmm,

the differences between the structures 

in the slums of Kamwokya and those 

in its nearest town Kololo totally 

blow me away,

the abject poverty in the slums is 

terrifying yet Kololo shines with 

streets of gold,

the houses in upper Kololo are shiny,

yellow and magnificent,

you wonder how the looney marijuana 

scented town with its wood houses has 

stayed near this big place with glass 

houses and palm trees without crumbling

 to dust,

thank you ancestors of Kamwokya for 

pouring incense on my head and 

allowing me to be a leader of this little 

city for so long a time.


I’m now swerving unto Yusuf Lule Road,

Gosh, l feel really good,

I have such Godly plans for this town,

I’m so grateful to Jah for getting me out

of bed and onto the road jogging.


My son McKenzie,

I know you were born with HIV/AIDS 

and you also happen to come from one

of the places that breeds 

‘useless young people,’

but look son,

my assailants have followed me on my

jogging routine,

the losers could not even kill me in my 

own home town of Kamwokya,

they did it at Garden City son,

so guess what?

I may die by the hammer today,

I may die by the hand of hate today,

but l was killed at Garden City son…

and what does that say about life son?


It says never pick up a hammer as a form 

of action 


It says never pick up hate as a form of 

action 


It says things which start in blood end 

in blood


It says l was killed at Garden City 

because this is a new Kamwokya,

a new Uganda, a new Africa,

a new youth, a new Justice,

a new leadership, and here we grow son,

that’s the symbolism of my murder,

growth,

even when poor thugs hammer our 

formless body to death,

the soul thrives son,

the soul must survive, 

so you keep going son,

so you drop that gun son,

learn to fight only with peace and love son.


I’m scared yes, 

but if you think l’m going to run away from 

my home because of your silly gimmicks of

looting, thuggin and killing,

If you think my soldier soul is gone 

because you have killed me with hammer,

oswadde,

oswadde nyo,

nze ndi mazzi mawanvu.


You see brother Terence Howard,

I’m just a scared Ugandan tenant,

besides the hungry-thirsty mosquitoes 

from the mwala next to my rental,

I got to hear of the chairman’s death just 

as l shifted on my side in bed in the chaos 

of the early morning.


On 16th July 2022,

Saturday 6:12 am,

a new day, 

SHIKAMOO Mr. Chairman, 

a new revolution started at the 

stroke of the hammer,

the city thieves splashed your 

blue red yellow blood all over 

Central Park, Garden City, Jinja Road,

James Kakooza was your name,

a relentless servant of the Kamwokya

community,

a lion among the youths of Kamwokya,

If we are talking about arms,

Kamwokya has lost its right hand.


My name is McKenzie,

a kid living HIV,

I have grown up in Kamwokya and you 

have nurtured me into the youth l’m today.


I’m a street hustler,

my name is Nana,

you gave me food during the hard times

of COVID-19.


My name is Allan,

I’m this bad man from Kamwokya, 

a rasta and an entrepreneur,

I originate from Kabaale,

you signed the papers that allowed me 

to run business in Kamwokya,

you made my stay in Kamwokya so

easy,

now that you are gone,

I feel like l don’t belong here anymore.


Your head bashing against the blunt 

hammer of death,

SHIKAMOO Mr. Chairman,

the moon is yellow and the sky is softly 

dripping with blue buttons,

every kid, every youth, every middle-aged 

man, every old person,

they all line up to see your sweet face 

in death.


You left early in the morning for a jog and 

at 4 pm of the same day,

we received you in a coffin,

the truth comes like a panga,

I looked down into the coffin expecting to 

see a distorted face full of hammer wounds,

but you should have seen yourself in that 

coffin comrade,

they washed your face and oiled it with 

shea butter from the Tanzanian oceanic 

tropics, 

black suit, tuxedo and all,

I think you looked pretty brave even when 

they confined your Jaguar running legs to 

a bus that does not move,

your coffin,

sleep with the angels.


African leaders die like chickens,

from Patrice Lumumba,

all the way to the Islamic-state leader,

Muammar Muhammad Abu-Minyar-al Gaddafi.


You may have died like a chicken,

Justice may never lick those cool buttocks 

in your grave in Gomba,

but as l write this,

my shoes are shined,

my bed is shined,

my vinyl records are dust-free,

and candlelight is burning,

I’m on my knees fighting battles

with prayer like the famous 

Mother Teresa,

so while they wash away your 

red blue yellow blood of courage from the 

streets of hate, stupid violence and 

dirty politics,

my nerves are failing brother 

Terrence Howard,

the war on the conscience of the African 

leaders is failing,

and my cry to the ancestors seems to 

be a cry in a forest full of thick dense 

trees.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page